The Junior Developer With 7 Years Experience

Brian Jenney
4 min readJul 30, 2023

I met a junior developer with 7 years experience. His resume actually looked pretty good. When we started the interview though… oof.

He had been writing JS for nearly a decade but could not use ES6.

He struggled with a simple problem that required iterating over an array and merging some objects.

How was this possible?

My guess is that he had spent all the time at his current company basically doing the same tasks over and over and over. I’m sure he was excellent at THAT particular company.

We could not move forward with him.

What I wish I had done: Pull him to the side after the interview and explain what he needs to learn in order to do better at his next interview.

What I did: “Thanks for your time today.”

I think about this story a lot. You don’t want to fall into the same trap. You want you to get to Senior Developer at some point.

Let’s clear up some of the dumb advice you’ve read on LinkedIn:

  • Titles don’t matter
  • Seniors need at least [x] years of experience
  • Seniors are the best coders on the team
  • Get experience and the titles will come

--

--

Brian Jenney

full-stackish developer, late bloomer coder and power google user and owner of Parsity.io